Tennessee 14-Day Nonpayment of Rent Notice Form Letters

Last Updated: January 20, 2023.

About this Form

This form is a legally compliant 14-Day Nonpayment of Rent Notice for use in Tennessee. It is professionally crafted to meet the requirements outlined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-7-109. This form letter serves as the first step in the eviction process, giving the tenant the option to either pay all past-due rent, including any late fees, within 14 days of receipt of this letter, or vacate the premises. The form letter is a standard, unlocked Microsoft Word document, reusable, customizable to fit your specific situation, and can be downloaded immediately after purchase.
Instructions for Providing Notice to a Tenant for Nonpayment of Rent in Tennessee:

In Tennessee, landlords may provide a 14-day notice to tenants for nonpayment of rent, known as a "curable defaults notice." This notice gives the tenant 14 days to pay the overdue rent, or the lease agreement may be terminated.

Notice Waivers

  1. Before issuing a notice for nonpayment of rent, ensure that the lease agreement does not waive the landlord's right to provide notice.
  2. Waiver provisions must be clearly stated in the lease agreement in 12-point bold font or larger print.
  3. Additionally, waiver provisions are not enforceable if the tenant receives federal subsidies under any HUD program.

Cure Period and Consequences

  1. Once the notice has been provided to the tenant, they have 14 days to pay the overdue rent.
  2. If the tenant fails to pay the rent within the 14-day period, the landlord may terminate the lease.
  3. The landlord may not issue a notice of termination for the same nonpayment of rent within six months of the tenant curing the default.

Notice Requirements for the 14-Day Notice

The notice must include the following information:

  1. A description of the acts and omissions that constitute the breach of the lease, including the date or dates that the acts occurred;
  2. Notice that the tenant has 14 days within which to cure the breach.
  3. Notice that if the tenant fails to cure the breach within 14 days, the lease will terminate.
  4. Notice that if the tenant commits the same breach within six months, the lease will be terminated.
  5. The notice must also include language indicating that the tenant has the right to discuss the notice with management and the right to defend against an eviction action in court.
  6. For subsidized properties, the notice must advise the tenant has ten (10) days to meet with management to discuss the notice.

Notice Requirements to Terminate Lease (Only Upon Repeated Default Within 6 Months in Counties With Population Less than 75,000)

In Tennessee, if a tenant repeats failing to pay rent, and the landlord already provided the tenant with a 14-day notice for the same violation within the previous six months, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement. To accomplish this lease termination, the landlord must provide the tenant 14 days' written notice specifying the breach and the date of termination of the lease. (See Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-7-109(a)(2).)

Notice Preparation

A representative of the landlord must sign the notice.

  1. The signature can be in ink or electronic.
  2. Retain a copy of the notice for record keeping.

Serving Notice to the Tenant

When providing notice to a tenant in Tennessee, the landlord must follow the method outlined in the lease agreement and in accordance with state law.

Hand-Delivery of Notice

  1. Always hand-deliver a copy of the notice to the unit.
  2. If the tenant is not present, place the notice in an envelope and affix it to the door or slide it under the door.
  3. Note the date and time the letter was hand-delivered, and place this record in the tenant's file.

Mailing of Notice

  1. In addition to hand-delivery, mail a copy of the letter to the tenant.
  2. In most cases, the lease will set forth the manner the notice is mailed (i.e., regular, certified, etc.).
  3. If the lease requires certified or registered mail, send the letter via regular mail and the manner outlined in the lease.

Notice via Electronic Mail

  1. Under the URLTA, if the tenant agrees, the landlord may send the notice via email.
  2. Print a copy of the email containing the termination letter, which must show the time and date sent, as well as the sender's email address and the recipient's email address.
  3. At court, you must prove the email was sent to the email address requested by the tenant.

Landlords must follow all state and local laws when providing notice to tenants for nonpayment of rent or any other lease violation. If the landlord has any doubts about this process, consult a lawyer to ensure compliance with all legal requirements.